Bittersweet Symphony 

Sitting here with my coffee – Happy National Coffee Day! (Okay, it was a couple days ago, but every day in my house is National Coffee Day, amirite?) I’m thinking I should get up and do something productive, but instead I’m getting all nostalgic. Fall does that in general, something about the change of the seasons makes me reflect on high-school football games and chilly nights and old friends. 

We bought a new truck on Wednesday, and it’s beautiful!! 

But that means they had to take away my beloved old Mustang, which was sad. I remember buying that car in another era, when I was verrry young and single and two doors and a loud stereo was all I needed.


I had SO many fun adventures in that car. It saw me through all of my twenties and well into my thirties, three cities, six jobs, and countless boyfriends. But… it was time to move on. 

Fact: Car seat in a two door is no fun. Overheating car in the Chico summers, also not fun. It was old and beat up and starting to break down, but it was comfortable. 

This new truck is totally a metaphor for stepping out of your comfort zone. It’s big and shiny and so much more suitable for my life now. It’s also so MUCH truck, and a little scary to drive. 

Change is hard. In the last two years I have moved in with someone, adopted a dog, become a wife and a mother, and made the decision to stay at home instead of work. All of these required huge mental shifts, sometimes I feel like I’ve given up so many pieces of old me and cling to whatevers left. Drives my husband crazy, we seriously had an argument over my single serve coffee pot, lol. And I cried when I became too pregnant to wear my belly ring- blame that one on the hormones. 


All this to say you have to drag me kicking and screaming into change. But it’s totally worth it, and I’m working on trusting the universe and God. My life has been so enriched by everything that I can’t imagine what it would have been like to say “No” to any one of those life shifts. So I’ll learn to drive the gigantic truck, and be grateful for both what was and what is and what will be. 😊 Hope y’all are having a fantastic weekend so far! We get to be lazy today and tomorrow since Jonathan’s off til Wednesday, I foresee lots of football. 🏈

Leave a Reply

